Home  /  Inside City Hall  /  Departments  /  City Council

City Council



 Lydia Assefa-Dawson Position 1
 Bob Celski Position 2
 Susan Honda Position 3
 Jeanne Burbidge Position 4
 Mark Koppang Position 5
 Martin A. Moore Position 6
 Dini Duclos Position 7


The Federal Way City Council consists of seven members who are directly elected by the citizens for four-year terms. The City Council establishes law and policy by passing ordinances and resolutions. Public comment is welcomed and appreciated during the meetings. To learn more about each councilmember, please select their name above. 

If you would like to email all of the councilmembers with one email, please click here.


  • 7:00 pm
  • First and third Tuesdays of each month
    33325 8th Ave. S.
    Federal Way, WA 98003

2016/2017 Council Committees
The council divides itself into three committees for closer study of issues: 


Raising the Beam at the PAEC 8/4/2016
Deputy Mayor Burbidge, Councilmembers Duclos, Honda and Assefa-Dawson

Korean Youth Leadership
Councilmembers Assefa-Dawson, Councilmember Honda, Councilmember Moore
Deputy Mayor Burbidge & Former Mayor Michael Park
Welcomed a group of High School Youth Leadership from Korea on July 18, 2016

Park Grand ReOpening
Town Square Park Ribbon Cutting, July 9, 2016
Councilmembers Lydia Assefa-Dawson &  Dini Duclos, KC Councilman Pete von Reichbauer,
Deputy Mayor Jeanne Burbidge, Mayor Jim Ferrell,
Councilmember Martin Moore, Senator Mark Miloscia, Councilmembers Susan Honda & Mark Koppang


RWBF 7/4/16
Red White and Blues Festival, July 4, 2016
Mayor Jim Ferrell, Deputy Mayor Jeanne Burbidge,
Councilmembers Susan Honda, Lydia Assefa-Dawson, Mark Koppang, Martin Moore,
WA State Representatives Linda Kochmar and Teri Hickel.


Supporting our community against Human Trafficking


Marine Hills Parade is an annual event the Council love to be a part of Rain or Shine! 


Celebrating with the students of Federal Way making a difference
for communities in need of water and clothing.


City Council



Jeri-Lynn Clark
Executive Assistant to the Council

33325 8th Ave. South
Federal Way, WA  98003

Ph: 253.835.2401
Fx: 253.835.2409

Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm